DIY Coconut and Coffee Scrub

I love my mornings! As an early bird, I wake up with mother nature. I get to hear the birds sing, watch the sun peak through the trees to the east, and sense the stillness in the air. This morning, a storm rolled in, and I got to witness the rain washing and cleansing the earth. The chorus of frogs that live in the marsh behind my house were singing as well. Sipping my morning coffee and taking in that moment, I felt peaceful. It is these little things that make life so wonderful! My morning coffee is one tiny joy. A freshly brewed cup of organic Colombian coffee sweetened with raw honey can send my senses into such happiness.

Typically after I indulge in my cup-o-joe, I throw the remaining coffee grounds into our compost crock, so they can be used as fertilizer in our garden. Being conscious about the environment, I would like to do my part in preserving as well as restoring mother earth. Reduce, reuse and recycle! I also believe it is important to live a natural life and try to use natural products as opposed to chemicals and plastics that harm our ecosystem. So getting back to my point of coffee…while typically I will recycle the remains into our compost, sometimes I like to pamper my skin and make a coffee scrub. It is simple to make and very beneficial for your skin. The caffeine found in the coffee grounds reduces cellulite, leaving your skin tighter and firmer. The coconut oil that is also in the scrub provides your skin with vitamin E, which is essential for healthy skin growth, keeping your skin smooth and to protect against cracking. It has saturated fats as well, which keeps your skin moisturized. Not to mention that this combo smells amazing. This beauty treatment has no preservatives or harsh chemicals, tons of health benefits, and is so simple and inexpensive. It’s a win, win, win!

Here is the recipe for anyone who is wishing to indulge and pamper themselves in some coco-coffee goodness!

Coconut Coffee Scrub

  • Leftover coffee grounds (mine typically amount to a cup)
  • 1 tbsp coconut oil
  1. In a small dish, mix together the coffee grounds and the coconut oil
  2. Rub the mixture all over your body, letting sit on your skin for at least thirty seconds.
  3. Wash off, pat dry and enjoy feeling silky smooth!
One thought on “DIY Coconut and Coffee Scrub

  1. Pingback: Fall Spice Body Scrub | Honey Lune Hivery

Leave a Reply

