Mindfulness

Photography helps me focus in on the tiny details of life which allows me to be mindful.

Photography helps me focus in on the tiny details of life which allows me to be mindful.

Having an overactive mind, I sometimes find it very difficult to stay in the present moment. My thoughts are running wild within my head, and I tend to be anywhere and everywhere but in the here. Today I want to talk about mindfulness, or living in the here and now. For some, like myself, it is a hard concept to achieve, but I have a few tips and tricks that can help one focus on the present moment, which is what living is all about!

Focusing on your senses

We have these five senses for a reason…so let’s use them! When I want to full experience a moment, I try to make a mental note of at least five of each sense. What am I seeing? Be descriptive! What am I smelling? What am I hearing? What am I feeling? Is the air cool? Is the ground hard or soft? I am basically capturing this setting in my head as if I had to write about it later. Overtime, it becomes easier to not remind yourself to make these mental notes and it becomes habitual.

Photography

One of the reasons I love photography is that is allows me to focus in and look for life’s tiny details. When I shoot, I am always on the lookout for objects to capture in a photo. This makes me aware of my surroundings and appreciate the beauty in life. It is hard to get trapped in your head when you are on the hunt for a great capture!

Music

Just like photography, listening to music helps me get out of my head and live in the moment. Music has this power to uplift my mood and most of the time, I am either singing along or dancing to the beat, which makes me fully enjoy and live that moment.

Yoga

I love yoga! Not only is it a great toning workout, but yoga has you focus in on your body, making you mindful of your breathing, tenses in muscles, and overall just raises your awareness. There are tons of yoga resources to choose from. You can go on Youtube to watch some beginner yoga videos, go to a yoga studio, learn from a book…whatever is your preferred method!

These are just a few of my tricks that help me stay mindful…I’d love to hear some of yours! As always, have a wonderful day!

One thought on “Mindfulness

  1. I like your concept of focusing on each of your five senses and internally describing the details to yourself. Although I like to stop and enjoy a sensation (of a bird chirping or a beautiful view), I’ve never taken the time to go through all five. I’ll have to try that.

    I agree about photography. When I’ve had a tough week or feel stressed out, photographing flowers, trees and leaves calms me and makes me happy. It brings me into the heart of nature and its quiet and beauty It forces me to focus outward and enjoy that moment.

    Like

Leave a Reply

