Affirmations and Mantras

Being a logophile, I love mantras and affirmations! Both are great tools for boosting self-esteem, encouraging you and the change you wish to achieve, as well as making you reflect, all of which lead to healthy minds and positive beings! I discovered mantras and affirmations while in recovery. At the time, I was this big ball of negativity. I was plagued by depression and worry. My self-esteem was rock bottom and I just couldn’t see a lot of good in my life. I remember learning about affirmations and how reading them or looking at one a day could change my perspective. Keeping a collection of affirmations at hand, I began to slowly but surely feel the hope and positivity seep back into my life. When I felt that things were getting tough, I would reference back to a mantra or affirmation. One of my favorite sayings that got me through a lot of pessimism was, “Every flower must grow through dirt”.

Not all mantras and affirmations I have used pertain to self-esteem. I find many different sayings and quotes for different areas of my life that I would like to improve upon. I read these and find the truth and beauty behind each quote. These words are motivation boosters for me and I would like to share some of these sayings with you! Below is a list of mantras and words of wisdom pertaining to different focuses.

Success

  1. “A successful person is one who can lay a firm foundation with the bricks others have thrown at them.”
  2. “Giving up on your goal because of a setback is like slashing your other three tires because you got a flat.”
  3. “Don’t be afraid to fail. Be afraid not to try.”

Change

  1. “The secret to change is to focus all your energy, not on fighting the old, but on building the new.”
  2. “In any given moment we have two options: step forward into growth or to step back into safety.”

Strength

  1. “Out of your vulnerabilities will come your strength.”
  2. “Don’t pray for an easy life. Pray for the strength to endure a difficult one.”
  3. “Even the darkest night will end and the sun will rise.”

Happiness

  1. “The art of being happy lies in the power of extracting happiness from common things.”
  2. “Our days are happier when we give people a bit of our hearts rather than a piece of our mind.”

If you are interested in more mantras and affirmations, check out my Pinterest board, “Words of Wisdom”. https://www.pinterest.com/tortuga_de_lune/words-of-wisdom/. You can also check out other user’s boards or just type in “Affirmations” into a search bar. I will leave you with one more mantra from this word junkie:

Your life is your story. Write well. Edit often.

Leave a Reply

